Bonn Agreement Environment

The WSC acts as a framework convention and encourages its States Parties to conclude global or regional agreements. Article V of the Convention defines what agreements concluded under its auspices should include. These agreements are generally legally binding contracts to “return or maintain the migratory species concerned in a favourable conservation status”. To date, seven agreements have been signed: [4][5] The agreement was revised in 1983 to involve the European Union and, in 2001, to allow Ireland`s accession. Following several oil spills in 1969, the North Sea coastal States established the Bonn Agreement to ensure mutual cooperation in pollution prevention and control. The original 1969 agreement was replaced in 1983 by a new Bonn agreement covering “other pollutants” and oil. In addition to the Bonn Agreement, several multilateral agreements exist in the North Sea region: between Denmark, Germany and the Netherlands (DENGERNETH); France and the United Kingdom (MANCHEPLAN); Norway and the United Kingdom (NORBRITPLAN) and Belgium, the Netherlands, France and the United Kingdom (QUADRIPARTITE ZONE). The Bonn Agreement is the oldest regional agreement put in place by governments to deal with pollution events. Belgium is one of the ten signatories of the cooperation agreement “for the prevention and control of pollution of the North Sea by hydrocarbons and other pollutants” (Bonn Agreement, 1983). The signatories are the nine north sea coast states of Belgium, Denmark, France, Germany, Ireland, the Netherlands, Norway, Sweden and the United Kingdom, as well as the European Union. .

. .